AUTHOR INTERVIEW: True Born

True Born by L.E. Sterling

(I wanted to get this book for review, but there were some issue with that. I found LE Sterling’s work on Wattpad, and here’s an interview from her.)

Copy of TBbday

Welcome to Dominion City.

After the great Plague descended, the world population was decimated…and their genetics damaged beyond repair.

The Lasters wait hopelessly for their genes to self-destruct. The Splicers pay for expensive treatments that might prolong their life. The plague-resistant True Borns are as mysterious as they are feared…

And then there’s Lucy Fox and her identical twin sister, Margot. After endless tests, no one wants to reveal what they are.

When Margot disappears, a desperate Lucy has no choice but to put her faith in the True Borns, led by the charismatic leader, Nolan Storm, and the beautiful but deadly Jared, who tempts her as much as he infuriates her. As Lucy and the True Borns set out to rescue her sister, they stumble upon a vast conspiracy stretching from Dominion’s street preachers to shady Russian tycoons. But why target the Fox sisters?

As they say in Dominion, it’s in the blood.

 

Can you tell us about your book, True Born, in 40 words or less?

Sterling: In a world divided into Splicers, Lasters and True Borns, Lucy and Margot Fox, twins with a special bond, are plunged into the mystery of what they really are, and why True Borns have been hired to protect them.

What was your favorite scene to write?

Sterling: My favorite scene was where Lucy and Jared, one of the True Borns (and love interest) are trapped with each other as they go on a rescue mission. The sparks were just flying between these two and I loved how snippy they got with each other – and then Jared went absolutely feral, which was awesome.

What was the hardest scene to edit out?

Sterling: In the original draft of True Born I had a really gruesome scene – something really awful happened to Margot. Apparently it was just too gruesome. One of my earliest young readers couldn’t stomach it. So I chopped it into something else. It was hard to let go of – it was such a powerful scene! But something wonderful happened from this: the new scene opened up all sorts of really interesting plot possibilities that got extended through the next two novels, so it was a very favorable trade!

Favorite quote?

Sterling: It’s a toss up between:

“By your eighteenth birthday you’re supposed to know.

They’re supposed to tell you.

Splicer. True Born. Laster.”

(These are the words that began the original novella.) And the words that now begin the novel:

“When we came into the world, silent and cowled, my sister and I were attached by our big toes.”

I don’t know why – these are the phrases that for me resonate through the entire novels, kind of like the backbone of my ideas.

Standalone or series?

Sterling:  Series! That goes for what I prefer to both write and read. Isn’t it just so great when you fall in love with a book or a world or some characters and you just feel so lucky that you get to visit them again in the next book? I feel that way a lot these days. I even feel that way as I’m writing the True Born Trilogy.

If you had to give True Born a theme song what would you choose?

Sterling:  Oh, wow, how can I pick just one? Maybe Radiohead’s “Nude” – or Arcade Fire, which I have been listening to a lot lately while I write the series: I’d choose “Awful Sound” for the entire novel, but for the end of the novel I’d probably choose “My Body is a Cage.”  But I’m so bad at this! I’d like to hear from readers what theme song they would choose.

Are you currently working on anything else?

Sterling:  I’m wrapping up the third novel in the True Born Trilogy, but I’ve definitely got my eye on a couple of novels I’ve shelved for the past couple of years. One of them is a YA novel about faeries. The other is a thriller/romance about a Voodoo detective and a rodeo nurse. It was so much fun to write!

What is the best book you’ve read recently?

Sterling: Such a hard question. I really enjoyed reading Divergent  – I finally got around to reading that about a month ago. It’s great!! I have also been kind of addicted to Jennifer Armentrout’s work of late, particularly the Dark Elements series.

What is currently in your TBR pile?

Sterling:  Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare; I’ve recently added Pintip Dunn’s Forget Tomorrow and Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven Cycle series to my long, long list of books to be read. I’m really excited about these books! And I’m waiting very impatiently for Ilona Andrew’s White Hot, the next in the Hidden Legacy series.

Thanks so much for the interview!

What ways can readers connect with you?

Sterling:  I am all over the place! Readers can get in touch with me in any one of the following ways, and I would LOVE to hear from them!

My website/blog: www.le-sterling.com

Twitter: @le_sterling

My new Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/LESterling22/

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/LESterling

Thanks so much for the interview!

true born le sterling

Leave a Reply

